writing in book with cup of coffee and croissant

With everything going on in the world these days, a lot of people are dealing with feelings of stress, anxiety and uncertainty. Struggling with mental health can often feel debilitating. One of the most important things you can do to help yourself deal with it is to find and develop coping strategies that work for you, and learn how to use them in effective ways to help yourself manage. Outside of therapy and medication, practices like meditation and exercise are easily accessible tools you can use to help live with mental health conditions. I want to introduce you to one of my favorite tools, which is journaling.

There’s a flourishing journaling community online, full of beautiful spreads and elaborate systems people use — it can be super inspiring, but also very intimidating if you’re a total beginner. Well, I’m here to tell you the good news: journaling is actually super easy! You don’t need fancy art supplies and Instagram-worthy work. Your journal is for you, and unless you really want to share, you’re the only one who’s going to see it! All you need to get started is something to write with. That can be a pencil and an old exercise book, the notes app of your phone, a dedicated Google Doc — wherever you feel most comfortable.

I’m a bit of a journal junkie: of the various notebooks I’ve hoarded, five are currently in use as my journals. I have a bullet journal, a planner, a reading journal, a three-year line-a-day journal and then my journal. Don’t let me fool you, though. It’s absolutely not necessary to have so many kinds of journals. Personally, I like categorizing my journals by the way I use them, but that’s something you can build up to if you want to over time.